DIY SCENTED CANDLES 🕯

IMG_6540

Last year I wrote a list of 19 things I wanted to do throughout the year. Big and small, for example:
“learn a video editing program” (still working on that one)
“buy new black jeans” (I did, but need new ones again)
“make a candle”

Yesterday I finally decided to take on the candle! I was inspired by this book that I got from mumma bear, the title translates to “The Witch’s Garden” and I absolutely love it.

I started by getting all of my materials out:
– Dried flowers
– Lavender scented essential oil
– Old candle stumps that I’ve collected over the past year
– Two empty glass jars (these ones are actually old candle holders, so I knew they’d work with the heat)
– Candle wick-kit, bought at Aroma Zone Odeon for under 1€ (I’m sure it’s easy to find on amazon etc.)
– A bigger and a smaller pot

Then started melting! A simple bain-marie. I chose to try a layered candle, so I divided the stumps up in to colours first. This gives you an idea of how tiny our kitchen at home is by the way, this is pretty much it 😅

I was surprised at how quick this process was, and how the wax became pretty much transparent when it melted. I quickly poured it in to the glasses, where it started hardening and darkening. I let it do it’s thing while I moved on to the next layer. Added lavender oil and dried flowers as I went.

I had washed my hair and put on actual clothes for the occasion! Not every day that happens during the quarantine… felt ~ fresh ~

All three layers melted, mixed and poured! Topped with flowers! SO happy with this very first attempt at my own candles!!

Not sure how to make more of an ombre-effect happen, but I’ll keep experimenting for sure. Absolutely loved this project. Today I’ve cut the wicks and tonight I think we’ll light the first one! Hopefully it smells lavender-y and lovely 🤞

D. and I celebrated with delivered, Danish beer and our matching bar t-shirts 👯‍♀️

Have you made anything during the quarantine? Inspire me!!

Now that the blog has gotten a bit of a face lift, the comment section along with everything else should be in English. Let me know if anything looks funny and I’ll try to sort it out ASAP, excited for this fresh start ✨

One thought on “DIY SCENTED CANDLES 🕯

Leave a comment